Isle of Wight

Isle of Wight flag

The Isle of Wight Auxiliary Units were part of Hampshire as Area number 14 (Hampshire and the Isle of Wight). The Hampshire Auxiliary Units Patrols can be divided into 10 Groups from lists recorded by Major Malcolm Hancock based at Coleshill House around September 1944. Groups 9 and 10 cover the Isle of Wight.

There were some changes in Patrols and personnel over time and the Group structure did not exist earlier in the war, but it provides a useful way to look at the Patrols.

The Hampshire and Isle of Wight nominal roll is a simple A-Z address book. The only way to identify which Auxiliers were in what Patrol is by their home address, unless we have accounts from those involved.

Where Patrols are close together there maybe some question over which Patrol they were part of.

In May 1944 many men were recruited from Auxiliary Units to travel to Isle of Wight to protect the island from a counter attack during D-Day. 


Hampshire had a single Headquarters in use from formation until Stand Down at 1, Brook Street, Bishops Waltham, Southampton.

Intelligence Officers (IO)
Role Name Posted from Until
Intelligence Officer Captain Edward Buxton Clive 1941 03 Feb 1943
Intelligence Officer Lieutenant John Crosthwaite-Eyre 15 Jul 1940 1941
Intelligence Officer Major Edward Buxton Clive 04 Feb 1943 27 Sep 1944
Scout sections

The West Hampshire Scout Section was based in the New Forest. Very little is known about the East Hampshire Scout Section.

Map of Patrol locations

Arreton Patrol

Brighstone Patrol

Calbourne Patrol

Chillerton Patrol

Godshill Patrol

Newport (East) Patrol

Newport (North) Patrol

Newport (South) Patrol

Newport Patrol

Newtown Patrol (IoW)

Ningwood Patrol

Northwood Patrol

Ryde Patrol

Sandown Patrol

Shanklin Patrol

Whitwell Patrol