Worcestershire flag

Lists recorded by Major Malcolm Hancock based at Coleshill House around September 1944 show Worcestershire (Groups 1a and 1b) formed part of area 19 which also included Herefordshire (Group 2), Monmouthshire (Group 3) and latterly, from 1943, part of Glamorganshire (Groups 4a and 4b).

There were some changes in Patrols and personnel over time and the Group structure did not exist earlier in the war, but it provides a useful way to look at the Patrols.

The Worcestershire nominal roll is recorded in Patrol order.

Worcestershire Group Photo
Worcestershire Auxiliary Group Photo



The first Headquarters that is known is the home of the second Intelligence Officer, Captain Sandford at Eye Manor, near Leominster. Presumably it moved when he did and from at least the 10 August 1943 it was at Holmer, Hereford.

From 27 September 1944 Worcestershire came under Area 4 for its administration with its Headquarters at East Street, Ashburton, Devon.

Intelligence Officers (IO)
Role Name Posted from Until
Intelligence Officer Captain John Stewart Ellerman Todd 22 Jul 1940 14 Jul 1941
Intelligence Officer Captain Christopher C. Sandford 15 Jul 1941 1943
Intelligence Officer Captain Henry Lloyd Fielding Bucknall 12 Nov 1943 22 Apr 1944
Intelligence Officer Major Wilfred Welchman Harston 27 Sep 1944 03 Dec 1944
Scout sections

No Scout section is known to have operated in Worcestershire.

Map of Patrol locations

Alfrick Patrol

Broadheath Patrol

Claines Patrol

Crowle Patrol

Lenches Patrol

Malvern Patrol

Overbury Patrol