Cornwall flag

The 36 Cornwall Auxiliary Units Patrols can be divided into 6 Groups by lists recorded by Major Malcolm Hancock based at Coleshill House around September 1944.

There were some changes in Patrols and personnel over time and the Group structure did not exist earlier in the war, but it provides a useful way to look at the Patrols.

The Cornwall nominal roll is a simple A-Z address book. The only way to identify which Auxiliers were in what Patrol is by their home address.

Where Patrols are close together there maybe some question over what Patrol they were part of.


Captain Edmundson had already been active in Devon and Cornwall before joining Auxiliary Units and used Fort Austin in Plymouth as his base having operated from there already. While this might seem unusual as a base for Cornwall, at that point Devon and Cornwall were considered a single command by Auxiliary Units. By mid 1941, probably earlier, the Headquarters had moved to Polhilsa House in Cornwall.

Devon and Cornwall Officers with Intelligence Officers at Langstone Manor. Most likely Nov 1943. Click on links to go to Officer's page. See below for an image without links.

On 15 September 1942 it moved to Langstone Manor in Devon when Devon and Cornwall Auxiliary Units were divided between two Intelligence Officers, remaining there until 8 November 1943. After this the Headquarters was in Barclays Bank Chambers, Liskeard, Cornwall. From 27 September 1944 it moved to East Street, Ashburton, Devon, which also was the Headquarters of Number 4 Area, which incuded Devon, from September 1944.

Intelligence Officers (IO)
Role Name Posted from Until
Intelligence Officer Captain Joshua William Stuart Edmundson 16 Jul 1940 31 Dec 1943
Intelligence Officer Captain John Dingley 15 Jun 1941 11 Oct 1944
Intelligence Officer Major Wilfred Welchman Harston 27 Sep 1944 03 Dec 1944
Scout sections

As Cornwall and Devon were a single area initially, there was only one Cornwall Scout Section. In April 1943 as part of manpower reductions in the Regular Army component of Auxiliary Units, it was halved in size and merged with the Devon Scout Section to create a Combined Devon and Cornwall Scout Section

Map of Patrol locations

Bridgerule Patrol

Coads Green Patrol

Constantine Patrol

Fowey Patrol

Grampound Patrol

Lansallos Patrol

Launceston Patrol

Mabe Patrol

Madron Patrol

Manaccan Patrol

Morval (Looe) Patrol

Mullion Patrol

Newlyn East Patrol

Pelynt Patrol

Perranporth Patrol

Perranwell Patrol

Philleigh Patrol

Porthleven Patrol

Probus Patrol

Redruth Patrol

Roseland Patrol

St. Blazey Patrol

St. Breward Patrol

St. Columb Patrol

St. Dennis Patrol

St. Germans Patrol

St. Issey Patrol

St. Ive Patrol

St. Juliot Patrol

St. Keverne Patrol

St. Keyne Patrol

St. Levan Patrol

St. Mawgan Patrol

St. Teath Patrol

Trencrom Patrol

Truro Patrol

OB Image
Caption & credit
TNA ref WO199/3265 Particular of Sums
OB Image
Caption & credit
TNA ref WO199/3265 Io list 1942
OB Image
Caption & credit
TNA ref WO199/3265 IO List 1944
OB Image
Caption & credit
TNA ref WO199/3265 Cornwall accounts
OB Image
Caption & credit
TNA ref WO199/3265 Devon and Cornwall
OB Image
Caption & credit
Devon and Cornwall group Commanders