Norfolk flag

The 45 Norfolk Auxiliary Units Patrols can be divided into 11 Groups from lists recorded by Major Malcolm Hancock based at Coleshill House around the September 1944.

There were some changes in Patrols and personnel over time and the Group structure did not exist early in the war, but it provides a useful way to look at the Patrols.

The Norfolk Nominal Roll is organised by Group and Patrol meaning that the majority of men can confidently allocated. There is an additional alphabetical list with some additional men who can only be allocated by address and where Patrols are close together this has not been possible.


Captain Oxenden initialy used the Annesley Hotel, Eaton, Norwich as his Headquarters. By May 1941 the Headquarters had moved to Beeston Hall, where it remained until 13 August 1943. After that it moved to Syderstone. By 7th June 1944, Bolton House, Burnham Market was in use. On 16th July 1944 a new Headquarters for Norfolk, Suffolk and Essex opened at the Masonic Hall in Framlingham. Norfolk came under Area 2 on the final reorganisation with the Headquarters at North Bar Within, Beverley, Yorkshire.

Intelligence Officers (IO)
Role Name Posted from Until
Intelligence Officer Captain Noel Andrew Cotton Croft 15 Jul 1940 24 Jul 1940
Intelligence Officer Captain Nigel Vernon Oxenden M.C 24 Jul 1940 1941
Intelligence Officer Captain Geoffrey Woodward 10 May 1941 03 May 1943
Intelligence Officer Major Randle Frederick Hicks Darwall-Smith 13 Aug 1943 03 Dec 1944
Intelligence Officer Captain Archibald Douglas Hubbard 27 Sep 1944 03 Dec 1944
Scout sections

There was a West Norfolk Scout Section and an East Norfolk Scout Section. In April 1943, as part of the reduction of the Regular Army component of Auxiliary Units, half of the men in each section were returned to their Regiment. The reminder were merged into a Combined Norfolk Scout Section.

Map of Patrol locations

Alethorpe Patrol

Ashill Patrol

Aylsham Patrol

Baconsthorpe Patrol

Blakeney Patrol

Brancaster Patrol

Brandon Patrol

Carleton St. Peter Patrol

Castle Rising Patrol

Cley Patrol

Dersingham Patrol

Earlham Patrol

East Dereham Patrol

Eaton Patrol

Erpingham Patrol

Fakenham Patrol

Fritton Patrol

Fundenhall Patrol

Gayton Patrol

Happisburgh Patrol

Hellesdon Patrol

Hockwold Patrol

Holkham Park Patrol

Hoveton Patrol

Kirby Bedon Patrol

Lakenheath Patrol

Matlaske Patrol

Mautby Patrol

Middleton Patrol (Norfolk)

Mintlyn Patrol

Narford Patrol

Neatishead Patrol

North Walsham Patrol

Ringstead Patrol

Snettisham Patrol

Somerleyton Lake Patrol

South Walsham Patrol

Sprowston Patrol

St Olaves Patrol

Stody Patrol

Stoke Holy Cross Patrol

Syderstone Patrol

Thursford Patrol

Walsingham Patrol

Wroxham Patrol

OB Image
Caption & credit
TNA ref WO199/3265 Dorset and Norfolk IO