Scotland flag

Borders here includes East Lothian, Berwickshire, Roxburghshire,Selkirkshire, Dumfriesshire, Kirkcubrightshire, Peeblesshire and Wigtownshire. The Patrols are shown as they were in lists recorded by Major Malcolm Hancock based at Coleshill House around September 1944 

The Borders Auxiliary Units Patrols were set up in 1941, later than many other areas. They were located to cover the roads north at the narrowest point. The strategic aim of the Patrols would be to stop all northbound traffic in the event of a German invasion overrunning England, allowing the British Army to regroup in Scotland and counterattack.

In late 1941 there were 17 Patrols with 3 Group Commanders totalling 177 men, with 4 Patrols still to be formed. 21 OBs had been built already.

By 1944 the Borders was recorded as Area 4, with 21 Patrols divided into 7 Groups, though the numbering indicates there were four at one point.


Captain Forbes set up his Headquarters at Monksford House in Newton St Boswells.

From 27 September 1944 the Patrols were adminstered as part of Area 1 from the Headquarters at 6 Queen Street, Perth

Intelligence Officers (IO)
Role Name Posted from until
Intelligence Officer Captain Peter Ronald Anthony Forbes 1941 1943
Intelligence Officer Captain Wentworth Douglas Clark 1943 1943
Intelligence Officer Captain Giles Grierson Tweedie 15 Nov 1943 23 Apr 1944
Intelligence Officer Captain John William Tweedie 22 Apr 1944 mid June 1944
Scout sections

Being set up later than the other areas, it is thought that the Borders did not have a Scout Section. We know that a "Demonstration Squad" set up under one of the Scout Section Officers was active in Scotland and this may have filled the gap in the Borders in terms of training and support.